Updated date:

"Seven Deadly Sins" - Vice Senryu

I have written and published many poems all my life, including a self-published poetry book.

The seven deadly sins can hurt us severely or even send us to our death if we let them get out of control. They are the vices that do the most damage in our lives. If we don't monitor them, they will take over a human's life and consume them. Though with every vice, there is a virtue associated with it. This sanryu is meant to teach about the seven sins that are deadly to humans.

7 Deadly Sins (vices) sign - (Pride, Lust, Greed, Envy, Sloth, Wrath (anger), and Gluttony).

7 Deadly Sins (vices) sign - (Pride, Lust, Greed, Envy, Sloth, Wrath (anger), and Gluttony).

"Seven Deadly Sins"

The vices that tempt

Humans in all seasons are

Seven Deadly Sins.

The first vice is Pride.

You are vain and consumed with

Being the greatest.

The next is Envy.

It is jealousy at its

Best in autumn air.

The third is Anger.

It becomes out of control

In the winter time.

The next vice is Lust.

Impulsive desire on

Most hot summer nights.

Next is Gluttony.

Either too little or too

Much in the spring.

Greed is the next vice.

Wanting more money and more

Items than needed.

Last vice is called Sloth.

You stop caring at all

The whole season year.


© 2012 Alyssa Scheidemann


Alyssa Scheidemann (author) from Southwest Florida on March 16, 2012:

Thank you for your comment... and compliment! :) I have been learning and writing poetry for years and haven't come across learning of the type of poetry called senryu poetry. But that is good thing because now I've learned the existence of and about a different type of poetry. Thank you Sheila! I always follow the "you always learn something new everyday" view. :)

Sheila Wilson from Pennsylvania on March 16, 2012:

Nice. It's not haiku, but it's a good read. It could be considered a list of senryu... very good senryu.

Related Articles