Sonnet XVIII. Poetry and the Nine Muses

Updated on July 17, 2017

When Hesiod named the Muses and described,
five handled offices in Poesy.
Calliope dealt with epic poetry.
The lyric to Euterpe was ascribed.

Love poems fell upon Erato's sway.
The pastoral on Thalia's domain lay.
The sacred hymns and dances as a rule
relied on Polyhymnia's fine control.

The non-poetic Muses numbered four:
The tragedy was Melpomene's base.
In history would Clio hand out praise.
And Terpsichore ruled the dance of yore.

Astronomy was fair Urania's sphere.
But later, Christian bards adopted her.

-- Jose Rizal M. Reyes
February 10, 2017B

rhyming pattern: abba ccdd effe gg
sonnet type: New Zealand's Kiwi Pause
metric type: iambic pentameter
sonnet structure: English (quatrain, quatrain, quatrain, couplet)

The Nine Muses
The Nine Muses


    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • Lord of Poetry profile image

      Jose Rizal Reyes 8 months ago from Tabing Dagat, Odiongan, Romblon, Philippines

      First recorded updating is July 17, 2017. On July 21 of the same year, the HubPages Team notified me that the Nine Muses had been transported to the more rarefied air of LetterPile. And that is just appropriate for their divine dignity.